My Technical Writing Bootcamp Experience

My Technical Writing Bootcamp Experience

Getting to know about SCA UNN bootcamp was one of the exciting things that happened to me between the month of may and June 2022.

It all started when I got a text via WhatsApp from a close friend "Queen Akpan" on the 11th of may 2022. Her text contained a link to a form she said I should fill. Some days earlier we talked about things to do at home during this period of the ASUU strike- then she mentioned tech.

I had no idea about it but she gave me a push and ignited my desire to join in the tech world.

Due to issues of my phone and I also didn't have a laptop so I decided to take up technical writing. She sent me links "Freecodecamp technical writing for beginners " and "How to get started with technical writing by Cynthia Peter" Queen was quite persuasive.

Thereafter I filled the form and eventually got a mail on the 13th May and on the 14th I joined the SCA UNN technical writing.

The first task given to us on the 17th may 2022 was titled "Importance of joining a community in building a tech career path"

Looking back at my article and researches I made, I find it so relatable to my experience in the SCA tech writing community in the aspects of mentorship and guide, improving your desire to learn, reassessing your qualification and so many others.

The SCA tech community is made up of Ladies from different tech level who are ready to learn, share their experiences , share their articles for criticism as well as dishing out encouragements.

I'd like to make a reference to an article I came across online and I quote* "people in tech are probably one of the nicest people you'd come across" and also Queen's article where she wrote **"One of the characteristics of people in tech is that they love to get people started in their career path..."* and I concur with a big nod to that.

The attribute above goes to the Coordinator "Chidinma Odeniyi" and also participants of the group.

Occasionally on the deadline of the submission of tasks, there was always a group call on google meet platform where a guest speaker and technical writer "Cynthia Peter" was invited to review our articles. I'd rather call her a mentor than just a guest speaker because she was a guide to us all.

Even though I wasn't privileged to join any of the calls on the platform, reviews from the group were made about her, certain things she masked out, the corrections, and I just solved the puzzle in my head and concluded she was an amazing guide.

Due to the issues of my phone there were certain restrictions I had from joining the call, handling my hashnode account myself or even joining the slack community I got an invite for.

You're wondering how I pulled through right? Here Queen comes in again, in fact she always came in.

At the end of every call, she usually send reviews about the call, Cynthia's do's and dont's which made me to look forward to other tasks- she made sure I was carried along. We even spoke at lengths for almost a week about the second task "The metaverse", what we've read, what we know, what we think etc it was really exciting and at the end she was able to record my review and send it to me.

The SCA UNN tech writing community and the tasks we were asked to write about opened me up to new tech terms, already existing tech ideas and so on as someone that came from a non tech background I see this as a win win for me.

I often spent my days going in and out of sites, looking up new knowledge, jotting things down, and pulling words together for my article which has been really exciting for me, and now I have a knowledge of what technical writing is and all about.

I want to thank Shecode Africa and the SCA UNN tech writing community for this opportunity and I'd also state that I look forward to more tech journeys with you

A word of thanks to the coordinator "Chidinma Odeniyi", the guest speaker and mentor "Cynthia Peter", some of the ladies in the group " Aniefuna Chisom, Amarchukwu, iffy, and others that didn't only make the group fun but also contributed their piece.

A special shoutout to my Lovely friend "Queen Akpan" who through thick and thin made sure I pulled through and still wants me in the tech world, even cajoled me into registering for SCA Laptop Scholarship. I'm really blessed to have you around and I want to say "Thank you" and "I love you".

Here I drop my pen hoping to hear from my amazing readers about what they think about my experience in the comment box and also look forward to more exciting articles. Thank you